Celebrating great standards in Financial Planning


The FPI awards are the definitive benchmark of the great contribution to the community and the values of professional conduct. This year the FPI awards are paying homage to those champions in the industry who keep the torch burning by adding two new categories to the already prestigious awards including, the It starts with me award, and that of best professional practice. We are setting new standards through acknowledgement.

While the flagship Financial Planner of The Year award has closed, all other categories are still open. Whether you have your sights set on the Professional Practice Award, the Diversity and Inclusion award or the it Starts with Me award, enter soon as the award nominations close on the 03 August 2020. 

The 2019 awards yielded the strongest entries the FPI has ever received, and 2020 will no doubt reflect that growing sentiment. All winners, including the Financial Planner of The Year, will be announced at the gala dinner on 27 October 2020. The convention’s theme – Future Proof Your Business – is especially relevant this year, and the FPI is excited to have secured a stellar line-up of local and international thought leaders to present at the event.

The award categories include: 

Diversity and Inclusion Award

The award is open to anyone who is passionate about fostering diversity in the financial planning profession. It includes raising awareness of the profession in diverse communities, serving these communities with financial planning services and increasing professional opportunities for people from these communities. 

Harry Brews Award 

Previously the Chairman’s Award, this award was introduced in 2010 to honour a remarkable individual who has served the FPI and the financial planning profession over a lifetime. 

It Starts with Me Award

The award recognises a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® who works tirelessly to promote the CFP® certification. The mark of this award is reflected by a person who entrenches the CFP® mark in their work-life, invests in their personal brand by letting others know that they are a CFP® professional, and volunteers where required. 

Professional Practice Award  

Recognising that successful financial planning is a team effort, this brand-new award acknowledges the stellar performances of an entire financial planning practice. Winning this award will elevate your practice’s standing in the eyes of colleagues, clients and media alike. As such only FPI-approved practices may apply.

Top Candidate Award

The award recognises the year’s top-performing candidate in the FPI’s, CFP® Professional Competency exam. The winning candidate must have obtained their Postgraduate Diploma in Financial Planning or BCom Honours in Financial Planning at one of the FPI’s chosen education providers. Winners of this award tend to go on to have successful careers in financial planning.

From Previous winners 

Entering the awards is the best marketing decision you’ll ever make. But don’t take it from us. Take it from this past winner… 

When we won, the effect on existing clients alone was extraordinary. They were so proud of us and of their own decision to choose us. Additional business, referrals and public engagements followed. In the years that have passed, we are still living off the title. “

Barry O’Mahony, Financial Planner of the Year 2013


  • For detailed descriptions of each category, eligibility requirements, and to download entry forms, click here.
  • For more information, contact +27 11 470 6000 or email

The FPI is committed to improving access to quality professional financial planning and advice for all South Africans. 

Related posts

Dube Tshidi appointed as FSCA Commissioner


FPI Professional Digital Convention - Future Proof


6 contenders make it through to Round Two of the FPI Financial Planner of the Year competition


Education Awards - Call for Results